Franz Peter Schubert - Life and Music


Go to content

Franz Schubert - Symphony No. 3 in D major, D. 200

Music > Orchestral Music > Symphonies

On 24 May 1815, exactly two months after the completion of the second symphony, Schubert began composing his third, the D major symphony (D. 200). Although there are still traces of the great classical models Haydn and Mozart, each of the movements bears the mark of Schubert's own inimitable intonation.

In keeping with the cheerful spirit of the piece, the customary slow movement is replaced by a joyful Allegretto. To this the frolicking Menuetto forms a clear contrast; its Trio is unmistakably reminiscent of a so called 'Deutscher' (German dance), one of those rustic melodies which could be heard in the wine taverns in Grinzing. The finale, a virtuoso tarantella, whirls by in presto vivace tempo.

At the end of the score the composer notes '19th July 1815'. The symphony was probably performed during Schubert's lifetime in his circle of friends. The general public did not begin to take hesitant notice of the work until 32 years after the composer's death. The first public performance of the work as a whole was on 19 February 1881 in the London Crystal Palace, under the direction of August Friedrich Manns.

I. Adagio maestoso — Allegro con brio
II. Allegretto in G major
III. Menuetto. Vivace
IV. Presto vivace

Listen to Schubert's 3rd Symphony

Home | Biography | Music | Schuberts Circle | Letters | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu