Franz Peter Schubert - Life and Music


Go to content

Franz Schubert - Symphony No. 2 in B flat major, D. 125

Music > Orchestral Music > Symphonies

According to a note in the score, the Second Symphony in B flat major (D. 125), which was begun in December of 1814, was completed on the 24th of March 1815. However, it was not performed until 1877 in the London Crystal Palace under the direction of Sir August Friedrich Manns. Like the First Symphony, it is nourished by the typically Schubertian breadth of the melodic development, the extensive modulations and the altogether astonishing harmonic shifts.

The opening movement is unusual in that the reprise is in the sub-dominant instead of in the tonic, a device seldom found in the classical period. On the other hand, classical Mozartian elements are to be found in the transition to the development section, and the further treatment of the motif has a striking parallel at the same point in Mozart's Jupiter Symphony.

The graceful Andante with its theme and five variations provides a charming moment of rest, only to be succeeded by the energetic progress of the Allegro vivace-Menuetto with its delightful oboe melody in the Trio section. The finale, based upon folk themes, is marked by a vehement energy and the sparkling good humour of a wandering minstrel.

I. Largo - Allegro vivace
II. Andante in E flat major
III. Menuetto: Allegro vivace in C minor - Trio in E flat major
IV. Presto

Listen to Schubert's 2nd Symphony

Home | Biography | Music | Schuberts Circle | Letters | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu