Franz Peter Schubert - Life and Music


Go to content

Franz Schubert - Sonata in G major, D. 894

Music > Piano Music > Piano Sonatas

The Sonata, D. 894, also nicknamed 'Fantasie-Sonata' was composed in the autumn of 1826, shortly after Schubert's only other large-scale instrumental work in G major, the String Quartet, D. 887.

Its opening movement is a profoundly calm piece whose single moment of violence is provided by a development section set largely in the minor, and invoking the only iff markings to be found in Schubert's solo piano music.

As for the finale, it is a rondo with episodes in the styles of ecossaises. The second of them is expansive enough to take the form of a self-contained dance, complete with a trio whose melancholy C minor melody suffers a radiant sea-change into the major.

I. Molto moderato e cantabile
II. Andante
III. Menuetto, Allegro moderato
IV. Allegretto, G major

Listen to Sonata D. 894

Home | Biography | Music | Schuberts Circle | Letters | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu