Franz Peter Schubert - Life and Music


Go to content

Franz Schubert - Rondo for Violin & Orchestra D.438

Music > Orchestral Music

Written in June 1816, the Rondo for Violin and String Orchestra (D. 438) is undoubtedly Schubert's concerted masterpiece. Prefaced by an extended Adagio opening, the Rondo is both a virtuoso display piece for the soloists and a wonderful piece of music in its own right. With three themes (a cheerfully dancing opening theme, a second theme in Schubert's best faux-volkstone style, and a dramatic closing theme that moves from minor to major) deployed as an extended rondo form moving through Schubert's favorite third-related keys and climaxing in F major, Schubert's Rondo is as delightful a work as any of the closing movements of Mozart's violin concertos.

Listen to the Rondo for Violin and Orchestra

Home | Biography | Music | Schuberts Circle | Letters | Site Map


Back to content | Back to main menu